Newfoundland and Labrador Flag

Canada Facts
British Columbia
New Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador
Nova Scotia
Northwest Territories
Prince Edward Island
Library Sections
The Complete Shakespeare
US State Facts
Facts on Canada
Historical Documents
Classical Literature

Canada Facts reproduced from the Education Canada Network.

/ Home / Library / Canada Facts / Newfoundland and Labrador / Government

Area Map
Quick Facts
Location and Land
History and People

Newfoundland and Labrador: Government

There are 48 seats in the Newfoundland and Labrador parliament (one for each riding). After a general election, the Lieutenant Governor asks the leader of the party with the most elected members to become Premier and form a government. At least once every five years, Newfoundland and Labrador hold a general election. During an election campaign, all parties normally run candidates in each of the province's 48 constituencies. The candidate getting the most votes becomes the Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) and represents the riding's residents in the Provincial Legislature. Newfoundland has 6 appointed Senators and 7 Members of Parliament.

Looking for a job in the education sector? Visit Education America Network (for US job postings) or Education Canada Network (for Canadian opportunities).

Re-use/reproduction of some materials may be limited, please see our Acceptable Use Guidelines.
© 2001-2004 World of Education